Champ de Mars
The Champ de Mars racecourse was initially a military training ground until it was converted into a racecourse in 1812 by the Mauritius Turf Club which was founded in the same year. The Mauritius Turf Club is the second-oldest race course in the world. Champ de Mars was inaugurated and it hosted the first horse race in Mauritian history on 25 June 1812.
Horse Racing is among the most popular sports in Mauritius. It attracts more than 10 000 persons at Champ de Mars every week to enjoy this unique horse racing experience. The racing season starts around April to late November and they are usually held on a Saturday or Sunday. The biggest race of all is the Maiden Cup held in the month of September.
Within the racecourse stands a statue of King Edward VII made by the sculptor Prosper d’Épinay, and the Malartic Tomb, an obelisk to a French governor.